1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

reloader adjustment question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by hadjii, Feb 21, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hadjii

hadjii TS Member

I am new to reloading shotgun shells and I am having trouble making my reloads look as good as the factory loads. Am I expecting too much. Anyway, here's a couple of questions I have. How do I know when the wad is at the right depth? Should all the shot fit inside of the shot cup? When I do the final crimp, it seems the overall length is just a tad longer than factory.The reload doesn't have the nice crisp look to it. What I mean by that is, is that there is a nice little ring around the edgs of the factory rounds, but not on the reloads. If I knew how to load up pics to this website, you could see what I'm talking about. Does anybody have any advice off of the shoddy information I provided. I'm using a MEC 77 sizemaster reloader. I'm reloading 28 ga. Win AAHS hulls, BPI SG28II wads, 15 grains of Longshot powder, and 3/4 oz of no. 9 shot. Thanks in advance.

Regards, Gary Schoborg

2. SMITH47

SMITH47 Member

Gary
    when i started reloading i asked an experienced fellow shooter for assistance.
    if you know someone or ask around where you shoot i believe they will be more than happy to help..

ernie

3. Jawhawker

Jawhawker TS Member

Gary, on the question of wad depth-just enough pressure to get the wad on top of the powder which any will result the desired.

Shot will but alittle above the top of the wad if correct wad is used for the amount of shot dropped in most cases.