1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Release timing/speed and target breaks

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by DTrykow, Dec 17, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DTrykow

DTrykow Active Member

Looking for some input on release trigger speed and target breaks. I shoot an Allem roller release and noticed that at the 16yd my breaks are slightly ahead of the bird. At the 27yd I'm almost always hitting the front of the bird. I have a K-80 which swings very easy. But I was also thinking my release maybe too slow causing a slight delay. I'm new to the release world so I'm looking for some opinions on this. Thanks and Merry Christmas everyone. Dave T.

2. TjayE

TjayE Member

I think John has different size rollers to either "Speed up" or Slow down" the trigger release. Tom

3. oleolliedawg

oleolliedawg Banned User Banned TS Supporters

You can ask John and I'm sure he'll be willing to install the roller you NEED to speed up your release-for a price of course!!

4. Dickgshot

Dickgshot Well-Known Member

My shooting improved a lot when I went to a very fast, almost instantaneous
    release. My feeling is that the less time between when your brain says shoot and the gun fires, the better. If that weren't true, shooters wouldn't be shooting Seitz's and the other guns with the fastest lock time.

5. Twinbirds

Twinbirds TS Member

you are so close to being right! shoot it awhile. you want to be in front not behind. Just so you are not waiting for it to go off.

6. DTrykow

DTrykow Active Member

I can get a smaller roller and install myself. Allem's gave me a roller that "most" people shoot with. Dave T.

7. miketmx

miketmx Well-Known Member