1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Registered Targets

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by djw0119, Oct 19, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. djw0119

djw0119 TS Member

Can someone tell me how the registered targets work? I am new to trapshooting and the rule book doesn't really help me.
    Is there some overall database that tracks all your registered shots, how is this done at the gun club? someone watching, your word, etc. How is all this put on your ATA card etc. Do you have to specify you want to shoot some registered shots when at the gun club or do all of them count? I read something about this information being used to determine a person's capabilities and ranking. This may seem like a stupid question to most of you but I am having trouble figuring it out. I want to be able to go and shoot at events some day so a better understanding would be helpful. Thanks for the help.

2. setter

setter Member

First one needs to be a member of the ATA, you can sign up at any registered shoot. Each club desiring to hold registered shoots gets their shoot dates approved by the state secretary, the secretary sends them in to the ATA.

The individual clubs determine the format - the number of targets shot and whether singles, handicap, or doubles. For these events the squads are determined at sign up time. There is an offical scorekeeper for each trap.
    The scores are turned in (from the scoresheets) by the clubs to the ATA. The ATA then tracks these scores by member.

3. BDodd

BDodd TS Member