1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Registered Shoot Format Question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by illiniphil, Jul 22, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. illiniphil

illiniphil Member

This is my first year shooting registered targets and I must say I am hooked for life. However, I do have a question on why during a 200 bird event or between singles and handicap, why everyone has to be finished shooting prior to the first squad starting again with their second round of 100. For me, the two hour plus wait is a waste and I dont understand why this occurs and every shoot seems to operate the same.

My only frustration at this point with registered shoots is that you must devote the whole day for approximately two hours of shooting.

2. Old Cowboy

Old Cowboy Active Member

I don't think there's a rule that they can't for example start event #2 (handicap) before event #1 (singles) is finished, problem arises tho' if you've got some guy squaded on one of the last squads in the singles and then he's squaded on one of the first squads in handicap.........happened this year at the Montana State Shoot, we were one of the starting squads in the HNCP way at the north end and had to wait for one of our squadmates who was still shooting singes on one of the last singles squads way down at the south end.

John C. Saubak

3. waverider

waverider Well-Known Member

Only when there are back to back Handicap events there could be a wait for everyone to finish. This is because the high score and if there are enough shooters runner up scores will get punches. If any one changes the yardage that they shoot from, they must shoot from the new yardage in the next event.