1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Registered or just-for-fun

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by starship, Oct 5, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. starship

starship TS Member

Okay, here’s the background. Shot sporting clays and skeet for 3 or 4 years, but then had to lay-off due to a medical issue. When I was shooting I did a fair amount of sporting clay and skeet shooting (almost no trap). Even shot about 5 or 6 registered sporting clay shoots (won one of them).

After a 2 year lay-off I started shooting again about 6 months ago and this time have gotten hooked on trap. Bought a trap gun, bought a couple of books and took one lesson. I mostly shoot for the the fun and enjoyment I get, also the fine folks I have met at the two clubs I shoot at.

Here’s the question: Should I shoot registered or just keep having fun (not that I wouldn’t have fun shooting registered). I have been shooting about 93% from the 16 yd. I have also been shooting from the 20 yd (about 91%) as I believe that would be my handicap as a new shooter. I know nothing about registered targets or how a shoot works (cost, getting on a squad, number of clays, classification, respectable score, etc). Obviously I can learn this.

Just wondering what the general feeling is registered vs just-for-fun.

2. whatta_attitude

whatta_attitude TS Member

Follow your heart Star if it becomes stressful then your heading the wrong direction...Welcome to trap and have fun..
    Sandie

3. maclellan1911

maclellan1911 TS Member