1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Red dot vs e3

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by warren, Dec 24, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. warren

warren Member

I have been using e3 powder for about 3 years and the last time I ordered I decided to try some Red Dot since they are now saying it's cleaner than it was. Well it isn't, there is a big difference when I clean up my XT after shooting. I'm going back to e3 does anybody know of anything cleaner?

warren

2. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

PB, Clays.

HM

3. fssberson

fssberson Active Member

Never tried e3, but have used Red Dot and Clays for years. For awhile the supply of Clays dried up so went back to Red Dot. I like both and if handed shells with either one could not tell the difference. Will keep using Red Dot as it is American made and their support staff for information is very helpful. Fred

4. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

For fast powders, Red Dot burn rate and faster, the only thing cleaner than e3 is Extra-Lite. However, that is only usable for 7/8oz loads and slow 1oz loads.

Intermediate burn rate clean powders: American Select and Solo 1000

Slow, clean powders: PB

5. warren

warren Member

Pat Ireland let me know on here several years ago that both e3 and Red dot were made in the USA in fact near him, that's one of the big reasons I like to use them.

warren

6. JerryP

JerryP Active Member

Red Dot is most certainly cleaner than it used to be. The original Red Dot was nasty stuff.

7. Clay KillR

Clay KillR TS Member