1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Red Dot vs. Clays

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by WNCRob, Mar 25, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WNCRob

WNCRob Member

I'm fairly new to reloading shotgun shells...mostly used for trapshooting...all Remington components so far. My initial efforts have been with Clays, mostly 1180-1220 FPS 1 0z # 8 and # 8.5 for singles & handicap...I'm shooting @ 21.5 yd line. Seems that there is a price benefit for using Red Dot...are there other benefits as well? I suspect that this is a matter of individual preference, but is there any empirical difference between Clays and Red Dot...particularly if I increase my H'cap yardage and start loading higher velocity rounds or go to 1 1/8 oz rounds? Remington recommends Clays in its lighter loads (1150 fps), but tends to not recommend it for the slightly heavier loads, preferihng Red Dot and some others. I'd appreciate comments from those who have used both Clays and Red Dot.

Many thanks.

WNCRob

2. phirel

phirel TS Member

Both are excellent powders. Some will claim, without quantitative evidence, that Clays is cleaner burning. For me, the fact that Red Dot is made in the USA and Clays is imported is an important factor. This is not important to some others.

For long yardage handicap loads, I prefer Green Dot over both Clays and Red Dot.

Pat Ireland

3. chatbrat

chatbrat TS Member