1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Red Dot vs. Clays

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by tomr1, Jan 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tomr1

tomr1 Member

I'm new to reloading and looking for Pro's and Con's of Red Dot vs. Clays. I plan on loading 1 oz. loads for singles/first shot in doubles. Thanks in advance!

2. HTSmith

HTSmith Active Member

Either will work fine. I'd go with the cheapest. Personally I've gone to Alliant Extra Lite for my 1 oz reloads @ 1200 fps. A little goes a long way.

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Red Dot is the best and it smells good too. HMN

4. acorange

acorange Well-Known Member

It smells the best in paper hulls.

5. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Both will work fine.

I'm partial to Clays.

6. bkt514

bkt514 Active Member

I use Extra Lite for 7/8 oz loads.....fast clean and no felt recoil. Green Dot for the rest!!

7. Al391brown

Al391brown Member

Red dot! Can't beat it and its MADE IN THE USA!! Buy RED DOT for singles GREEN DOT for handicap

8. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Clays if you can get it at a decent price. Red Dot will do a good job as well.

9. John55

John55 Active Member

I use Clay Dot, best of both worlds!

10. Oregunner

Oregunner Well-Known Member

I switched from Red Dot to Clay Dot, made by Alliant, and comparable to Hodgdon's Clays. It shoots much cleaner for me and was the same price as Red Dot. Mark

11. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member

tomr1: Stick with RD (tried & true) you'll be happier in the long run. I was given a 4#er of Clays but in cool 35-40 degree temps I'm having getting soft--light recoil--odd sounding loads so will hold it back for summer. Normally use 700X or RD with no problems at any temp.