1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Recommended guns for a newbie

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by KeepFlying, Nov 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. KeepFlying

KeepFlying TS Member

Hello group. My name is Dennis and this is my first post. About 6 weeks ago, I started shooting trap with my twin sons in Littlestown, PA. Its a fantastic lace with lots of friendly folks. We totally enjoy it and would like to move onto sporting clays. Can you recommend a decent O/U, if possible, under $1,500? I am also thinking about a Franchi Sporting I-12. They are a little cheaper than O/Us and less than a Benelli. Thanks for any help.

2. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

Look for a used, but clean Browning or Beretta. There are a few listed below for sale in your price range. The one you get depends on what fits you better so try to find someone that has one or find them in a store and see which one you like better.

3. KEYBEAR

KEYBEAR Active Member

Lots of very nice clean Browing guns for sale also Beretta . They will hold interest if you are thinking of selling some time down the road .

The Franchi will never be the hot seller the Browning is .

4. esoxhunter

esoxhunter Well-Known Member

I agree with the other respondents. Shoot several guns first. Then look for a good USED gun. (Beretta or Browning). These guns will not depreciate much and will be reliable. I would look for one with an adjustable comb, (or you can have one installed), choke tubes and either 30" or 32" barrels. You will be set to shoot all the clay target disciplines. Good Luck. Ed

5. KENENT1

KENENT1 Active Member

beretta

tony

6. KeepFlying

KeepFlying TS Member