1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Recoil Reducer in skeet gun?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by missemucho, Nov 27, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. missemucho

missemucho Member

I'm a little confused (not an unusual state for me to be in)? I'm just getting started shooting (ahem:) skeet and I purchased an older 26" Citori as a starter gun. It came with a mercury recoil reducer in the stock. I'm replacing the stock recoil pad so I removed the reducer but now I'm seeing several short barreled skeet guns for sale on here that also have them.
    I put a reducer in my 32" XT because as I moved from an 1100 I seemed to need help in getting it to swing smoothly. However,it seems counter-intuitive to me to put more weight into the rear of a gun that should be plenty fast swinging already.

It seems a little unlikely that recoil is that big a problem with the light loads and open chokes used in skeet and the gun seems to balance fine without the extra weight.

How about it, you experienced old time skeeters; am I missing something here?

John

2. Joe Potosky

Joe Potosky Well-Known Member

RE: recoil is that big a problem with the light loads

Not unusually when I first started shooting skeet to see 3 dram 1 1/8 loads, thus the reducers.

3. shoobedoo

shoobedoo Member

QUOTE: "It seems a little unlikely that recoil is that big a problem with the light loads and open chokes used in skeet and the gun seems to balance fine without the extra weight..."