1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Recoil and Defibrillators

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by mqaqmontana, Sep 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mqaqmontana

mqaqmontana TS Member

I recently had a Pacemaker/Defibrilator put in my left chest. Being a left handed shooter, I've been told that I will have to learn to shoot right handed. I have been shooting for about 55 years and can't seem to get the right hand thing down. Master eye is too dominant, I guess.
    Is there some sort of recoil system available to reduce the recoil of a Remington 1100, 12 Ga. to acceptable levels? Is there anyone out there that has this same situation?
    Any information would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks, Mike Quinn

2. Billster

Billster TS Member

As an RN in a large Cardiac ICU and open heart surgery, I've gotta tell ya, I wouldn't play around with shooting left-handed with that AICD in there. Just my thought. Good luck with whatever you decide. What a dilemma.

Cheers
    Bill

3. Texshooter

Texshooter Member

Why didn't you/don't you have it placed on the right side? It might be moved. AJ

4. Jerry944t

Jerry944t Well-Known Member

DO NOT shoot from the left shoulder if you have a AICD placed on that side as was suggested by others. What WILL happen is that the leads that connect to your heart will eventually, maybe sooner than later, fracture and the device will become useless.

You will need to learn to shoot right handed at this point. As was pointed out the AICD could have been placed on either side depending on your anatomy but there is no way your doctor or your insurance company will move it after initial placement.