1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reclaimed Shot

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Sigraph, Feb 19, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sigraph

Sigraph TS Member

This is a piggy-back from mfgi26's post. I've been reloading for over 20 years, both centerfire and shotshell. I've read a lot about reclaimed shot, but have no idea how the stuff is reclaimed. In a reply on mfgi's post, someone commented on reclaimed shot coming from a lake. I'd like to think the shot was caught in some type of tight mesh in the approx. landing area of a trap or skeet range. If taken from the ground, how is the shot separated from dirt/sand, etc?

2. mgfi26

mgfi26 TS Member

Sigraph,

From what I've seen (and I think there are several different types of machines) the lead / dirt / sand etc. that is delivered to the reclaiming machine is seperated using centrifugal force. Like I said I've only seen one machine being used and I'm sure there are many different types out there.

Matt

3. rick979

rick979 Active Member

Shot is not trapped in a mesh. The reclaimers use a skidsteer to scrape the top layers of dirt in the shot fall area and load it in a machine that seperates the shot from dirt and debris. Then it is rolled and graphited and bagged for re-sale. I just bought 50 bags that are 26 pounds at $17.50. I can see no reason to use new shot for 16 yards or doubles with the price at $35.00 plus for a 25 pound bag. The last new shot I bought was about a year ago at $26.00/25 pound bag. Rick ~~~~Texas

4. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member