1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Reasons to stop shooting

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Goozer, Jul 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Goozer

Goozer TS Member

I started shooting trap 25 years ago . Alot of the old timers were still shooting and what a bunch of characters they were . Trap was never about the money for me , yeah I liked to break birds however trap was always about the friendships made and the comradery . At 50 years old now most of the guys I used to shoot with have passed on or moved out of the area because there are few jobs here in Western PA . My older good friend and mentor died last year, he killed himself .
    We used to go to all the shoots . It is hard to even visit these clubs to shoot,
    the desire is just not there . I guess the social aspect of shooting is very importent to me .

2. phirel

phirel TS Member

I have lost many of my fine old friends, including John Hiter just a couple of days ago. But, I have made many new friends. I look forward to going to shoots and not backward at the shoots I have gone to.

Pat Ireland

3. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member

The social aspect is by far the best reward in shooting. I see so many folks come and leave mad because they shot poorly or did not win. I get as much fulfillment out of losing as I do winning. I never quit trying to win but I have never left the club without a smile. I have shot all over the US and have friends at every club I ever shot at

4. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

I enjoy every shot I take whether it is in competition or in practice. I love ATA shooting and games alike. I enjoy watching old timers and young kids and have made many friends along the way.