1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Re-size loaded shells?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Engineeringtech, Nov 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Engineeringtech

Engineeringtech TS Member

I have an extremely old Sizemaster 20 ga. I didn't notice the nut which keeps the collet from turning, had loosened. During a reloading session, the collet backed out (rotated). I wound up with a hundred fully loaded shells which won't fit in my Benelli auto. I do not have a break action gun to put them in. I have readjusted the sizing mechanism, and tightened that locknut.

I'd rather not dissassemble all those loaded shells, or bury them. If I remove the decap pin, can I resize the loaded shells? Or is this just too risky?

Jim

2. jls7522

jls7522 Member

I am not an engineer...but those 100 shells couldn't be worth more than $30-40 at full retail. I value my vision to be worth at least double that :)

Cut them apart and salvage the components.

3. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

I wouldn't do it but have read where others have. I have to say i'd cut them apart before i'd risk it. You never wanna be the guy that it didn't work out well.

4. mrskeet410

mrskeet410 TS Member

I had the same situation. I don't recommend it, but I resized them. Will I do it again? Dunno. I hope I don't have to make that decision.

Your dime, your eyes.

5. HC_John

HC_John TS Member

I have done it without issues other than it was nerve racking. If you try it, dont rush the resize, bring the arm down slowly.

John MI

6. kgp912kgp

kgp912kgp Active Member

The Super Sizer has a big warning on it and it reads "WARNING NEVER RESIZE LOADED SHELLS". I would say scrap em... or not

7. mag410

mag410 Active Member