1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Questions regarding first registered ATA shoot

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by bonzai272, Mar 17, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bonzai272

bonzai272 Member

Nov 11, 2009
    I have been shooting unregistered singles about once a month for the past 9 months. I am a new member of the ATA and would like to attend my first registered event. Im going into this with no friends or family to show me the ropes. I have no experience with doubles or handicap so I will probably just show up on a Saturday morning and shoot 100 singles to get my feet wet.

Im curious as to how it works when I get there and what I need to bring (aside from the obvious gun and shells). Do I need to print out and bring some sort of shooting card, registration card or paperwork, etc? When I get there, I imagine its just a matter of registering with the staff, paying my fees, getting put on a field, squad and station, then waiting for my squad to be called, right? Im not very good yet so I suppose they would be put in a D class wouldnt they? I probably average 80/100 when I shoot singles.

Any tips, guidance and advice would be greatly appreciated. Im a little nervous going by myself but I love to shoot so Im going for it.
  2. harleypilot

harleypilot Member

Jan 7, 2007
    You have it right for the most part. They will sign you up for the ATA and probably your state association. They will supply your average card etc.

You will most likely be put in class A, until you have a couple of scores. Of course this depends on the person registering you at the shoot.

You will have a great time, and probably make some new friends.

Good luck,
  3. coveybuster

coveybuster Member

Dec 15, 2009