1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Questions for you GURU's. Forcing cone vs chokes

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by poe/IL, Oct 16, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. poe/IL

poe/IL TS Member

First off for those of you that don't know me or what I shoot. I am a newbie to trap shooting. Been a hunter all my life but never got into clays except to warm up for hunting season and that was my own personal trap machine or hand throwers etc. I'd never shot trap before until about a month and a half ago. I'm using an old (1953) Remington Model 48 Sportsman. Its a 3 shot field gun with a fixed full choke. Makes a great duck/goose gun but only handles 2 3/4" shells which isn't much by today's standards but when lead was king for ducks and geese this gun was a good one IMO. From the patterning I've been doing all I know is it shoots dead on. I have to wipe the target out to bust the clays. Most of the really good shooters at my club say their guns shoot high because they want to see the target when they shoot. Dead on is not all bad for me since as stated above I was a hunter before I became a trap shooter. I think most field guns were made to shoot dead on to just a tad high?

I'm just to old to go in the field anymore so my wife and I decided to take up trap and we LOVE IT! She is addicted big time and I'm way past that point already. First thing I do each day is read what y'all have to say. I try to keep as current as I can on your discussions. OK. NUFF about me and my gun. I have a couple of questions.