1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Question- why use a single barrel gun?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Aussie Dan, Jan 15, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aussie Dan

Aussie Dan Member

Hi guys,

Forgive me if these seem like stupid questions, but I'm still learning a few things about ATA trap-

I realize that your 16 yard singles and handicap are all shot with one shot, but why would someone buy a single barrel gun? You need 2 to shoot doubles anyway?

I have noticed the singles are longer in length, 34 inch etc, but most are weighted to balance the same as a double barrel anyway?

I guess there is some people that woud never shoot doubles, but that rules you out of high overall prizes right?

If you were a new shooter why wouldn't you just spend your money on a 32 inch o/u and shoot everything with it? Saves buying an expensive combo or 2 guns?

2. bob easton

bob easton TS Member

All I care about is singles trap. Absolutely ZERO plans for doubles or for skeet. A really good SBT gun is all I want, is lighter, and is simpler than the O/Us. Should the day come that doubles or sk**t becomes interesting, I'll buy another gun.

... and those AUTOs that a lot of people use for doubles and the other sports are also SINGLE barrel guns. :)

3. bigdogtx

bigdogtx Well-Known Member

Most who get to the longer all use a single barrell. Many including Leo Harrison, one of the best shooters and ambassodors of the sport, uses his O/U in singles. This is also another reason that many use an automatic as they can shoot all the games with a lower upfront cost....