1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

Question On Rule In Doubles?????

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Ed Y, Jul 2, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ed Y

    Ed Y Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,050
    Location:
    Warren New Jersey
    Please read the whole post, before replying.

    A shooter has a mechanical double release trigger. He calls and a legal pair come out. He shoots at the first target and gets a squib load. The wad stays in the barrel, missing the target. He fires the second shot, missing the second target.
    I know that it would be a re do had he not discharged the second shot but what's the current rule under these circumstances.

    Ed Yanchok
  2. TjayE

    TjayE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    703
    No Pair (FTF), shoot pair again.
  3. BigM-Perazzi

    BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,845
    Location:
    HELL, MICHIGAN
    good question Ed!

    C.

    7. When a commonly called “soft load” occurs, and the shot is fired
    but no part of the over powder wad or shot remains in the barrel and
    the target is missed. A soft load where the over powder wad or shot
    remain in the barrel shall be deemed a “Failure to Fire” and the “Failure
    to Fire” Rules apply.

    I would think this would be the first precedent.

    2. A contestant shall be allowed 2 failures to fire, for any reason other
    than stated in Paragraph C., 2., above, during each Doubles sub-event
    if the Failure to Fire occurs when the contestant attempts to shoot the
    first target of a Doubles pair,..

    Since the first target cannot be declared "lost" by rule, the 2nd bird would be a no target...

    JMHO

    Jim Chapman
  4. Hap MecTweaks

    Hap MecTweaks Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    8,294
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    The results of the first shot must be established first. 1st FTF as Jim said above. Shoot the pair again for score.

    Hap
  5. Jason Hassler

    Jason Hassler Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    280
    I'm not sure but I think the results of the second target are scored. The FTF rule would apply to the first target but the shooter didn't have a FTF on the second target. The pair was legal and he fired at the second target. I think he shoots the pair again but the second target is lost regardless.
  6. Ed Y

    Ed Y Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,050
    Location:
    Warren New Jersey
    I forgot to mention, we're talking about trap, not skeet.

    Ed Yanchok
  7. Setterman

    Setterman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,503
    No pair, shoot over.
  8. Dickgshot

    Dickgshot Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    3,415
    I'm not sure I agree. Let's say instead of a squib load you just forgot to put a shell in the first barrel. Now you pull the trigger and nothing happens so you pull it again and hit the target you shot at. Was that the first shot
    or the second shot? Is it a FTF on second target because you didn't have a shell in the gun for the second shot. Is there a difference the way you treat a squib load, bad primer, no primer, no powder, or..no shell.


    Let's say further that was your 49th pair and you were straight up til then, and Harlan and Leo both had 98's, so all you needed was the one target you hit to win the Grand doubles. There's nothing to say that you have to declare a FTF -it's an option.

    Do you get it, or do you have to shoot the pair over, and maybe dutch them and have to get in a shoot-off with Harlan and Leo -which you have no chance to win?
  9. trapshootin hippie

    trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    Dick, so ya are saying that Harlan and Leo can't be beat in a shootoff? Anyone can on a given day. If ya think that, ya shouldn't even get your shells out, just stay on the bench.

    GneJ
  10. BigM-Perazzi

    BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,845
    Location:
    HELL, MICHIGAN
    I think the OP question has been answered accurately, Dick's question is another subject entirely...
  11. Setterman

    Setterman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,503
    I agree Jim. A squib load is different than a no load.

    Hows the GLG doing on attendance? The computer system working good?
  12. midalake

    midalake Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,054
    NO PAIR...same thing could happen when a "no target" is called by the scorer for many reasons and you still fired at the second one.

    GS
  13. BigM-Perazzi

    BigM-Perazzi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,845
    Location:
    HELL, MICHIGAN
    Setterman, I don't have the numbers, but, they are putting them on TS.com..

    It's too darn long! lol...

    The HOA events don't start till Thursday!!

    I'm trying to find the local Obama tree so I can pick a few more $100 bills...

    Jim

    looked up the numbers, they show 632 entries and 223 shooters thru the first 2 days. but, we'll see what shakes out Thursday -Sunday...
  14. trapshootin hippie

    trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2007
    Messages:
    2,905
    BigM-Perazzi, I think the original post has been answered accurately, Settermans question is another matter entirely....
    Nanner, nanner, boo boo.

    GneJ
  15. hmb

    hmb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    8,092
    When you voluntarily shoot at a legal bird and miss, it is a lost target. HMB
  16. 870

    870 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,270
    In this case, the rule is a ftf on first shot negates everything afterward. Shoot the pair over.
  17. hmb

    hmb Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    8,092
    The FTF on the first target had not been established yet, when the second target was fired at and missed. HMB
  18. 870

    870 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    2,270
    hmb, you're making things up. The question as posed stated there was an ftf on the first shot. Fact is in that situation the rules call for the pair to be shot over. No other answer exists. The second shot has no impact what-so-ever when there was a ftf on the first attempted shot.
  19. ivanhoe

    ivanhoe Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,254
    Location:
    Oxford MA
    hmb what happens when you shoot and miss the first shot and don't shoot at the second target????

    Bob Lawless
  20. hfrogdogc

    hfrogdogc Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    161
    The wad in the barrel is the reason for FTF. Had the wad gone out of the barrel LOST PAIR
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.