1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Question on hold point

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by crewswalden, Apr 3, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. crewswalden

crewswalden Member

i've been taught to hold in singles/ handicaps below the back of fhe house for clear line of sight, then come up under bird for shot. I am a newbie d shooter. At a shoot today guys were saying to
    Hold horizontal to ground, then move laterally to intersect with bird. What do you accomplished
    shooters prefer? Does weather change your strategy? Specifically, shooting in strong, gusty wind?

2. Calkidd

Calkidd Well-Known Member

Depending on how the birds a coming out of the house, I normally hold just below the front edge of the house. If you hold any lower you're having to catch up to the target. To me, if you hold just low enough below the leading edge of the house you'll see the targets as they emerge.

Where were you shooting today?

Bryan

3. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

2 eye or 1 eye shooter?

4. vpr80

vpr80 Active Member

Shooting a top-single, I held it right at the front lip of the house. Could not hold it any higher as I didn't see the bird coming out. There is no need to hold it any lower than that. I recently picked up an unsingle and have found that I can hold it about a foot above the front lip and have a quicker shot to the bird. It really depends on what works for you, but basically "normally" you hold between the front lip of the house roof and up from there depending on you.

5. crewswalden

crewswalden Member