1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Question on classes?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by smsnyder, May 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. smsnyder

smsnyder Well-Known Member

If someone is declared a vet 16 yard event and shoots a 96 and is high in the vet catagory but not high overall in a 16 yard event can they fall back and take c class win? Another question, If a vet does win with a high 16 yard score overall and looses in a shootoff can he fall back to claim vet class? The rule is a little confusing.

2. cunninmp

cunninmp Member

So this is what happened to me. At Newman's Winter Chain, I was a Vet for 16's.
    I wasn't HOA or High Vet but I was high in my class. So I got a buckle for
    High in my class.
    The shoot had about 60 shooters. I was told by the ATA Rep, that if it had
    of been a large shoot, like the Grand, I would have to declare either Vet
    or just shoot for class. Not sure if this is correct.

Mike C.

3. smsnyder

This has happened to me several times and some clubs don't understand the rule. Example, Yesterday A vet shot 96 in a 16 yard event who was also in C class. He had the high score in vet class. Three of us shot 95 in C class. The vet wanted to claim the C class trophy and i thought that was wrong according to the rule book. The club agreed and told Vet he had to take Vet trophy. The three of us shoot off for the C class trophy. Was this correct?

4. V10

V10 Well-Known Member

Earl,

The rule only applies to ATA point shoots, although it can apply to non-point shoots if management chooses.

Assuming it's a point shoot, the high Vet (or any Category) shooter must take the Vet (Category) trophy.