1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Question from a new guy

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Redbone311, Aug 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Redbone311

Redbone311 TS Member

I am just starting out Trap shooting. I shot maybe two rounds about 35 years ago.
    I recently picked up a Miroku O/U fixed Full/Full Trap shotgun and am planing to shoot it tomorrow AM.
    But I also now have a guy looking to trade me his cased BT-99 w/ 32" fixed full and 34" fixed full barrels (both 12 ga singles) for a Colt Python.
    Any recommendations guys?
    Not sure yet if I will like it enough for 2 guns. Will find out tomorrow.
    Or if I do; should I go with just one gun, and then which one?
    What is the point of having the 2 barrels? I am guessing for shooting further back you use the longer one? Or to slow down a fast swinging shooter? Or what?
    I know time will tell here. But I don't want to be rude and put the other guy on hold forever either.
    Suggestions guys?
    Thanks in advance.
    Dave

2. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member

Redbone311: Kinda depends on how much you're in love with the Python, that said you didn't give the bbl length of your O&U. Generally speaking a longer sighting plane helps in pointing, and some people prefer the balance and swing of a longer (or shorter) bbl. O&Us can to some people ie. small frame--not too athletic--women--etc. feel a bit muzzle heavy. If possible ask if you could shoot a couple rounds (25) with the BT to compare how it "feels--fits" to your O&U. Either gun will serve you well until (unless) you start shooting doubles. Ross Puls

P.S. Welcome to a VERY addicting game. ENJOY

3. Steve W

Steve W Well-Known Member