1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Question about hearing protection?

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by WoodsonEnt, Jan 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. WoodsonEnt

WoodsonEnt Active Member

I am looking @ starting to wear foam plugs with ear muffs on outside. I have been wearing the molded plugs for several years. What is your opinion of best ear protection?

Matt

2. timb99

timb99 Well-Known Member

Cheap throw-away foam ones work pretty good.

Better, I think, than the molded ones I used to wear.

3. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

In the winter, I like to train folks with my Peltor Tactical Seven. They are fantastic ear warmers, too.

In warm and hot weather, I like my ESP's.

The foam plugs protect as well as anything out there, and are cheap. Buy a bottle full for a few bucks.

OTOH, if you are a Rangemaster, Coach, Trainer, or Range Officer, you need to be able to hear what is going on when you are on the range with loaded firearms.

4. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Using electronic muffs. Molded plugs in the summer.

HM

5. Hap MecTweaks

Hap MecTweaks Well-Known Member

I use the Peltor 7s over either molded plugs or foam throw aways. Muffs are too hot here in AZ summers though. When I'm hunting, I use my hearing aids with high decibel cut-off switches on both to protect what hearing I have left.

Hap

6. jakearoo

jakearoo Active Member

Best? Well, best is molded plugs with good muffs on top. If by best you mean best protection. Jake

7. phirel

phirel TS Member