1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

PW 900 hydro dropping double shot

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by qball, Jun 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. qball

qball TS Member

I have bought this press used around two years ago. I am still learning with it, but thought I had a good understanding. The last week, I am experiencing the press dropping well over the measured load (possibly double).

I am sure the press is indexing. I have taken the time sit and watch the press, but cannot determine where the malfunction is.

Anyone else have any ideas. I guess I'm turning on the Whiz Batman light in the sky :)

Cheers,

Quade

2. Lkn4rocks

Lkn4rocks TS Member

Always park the PW Press with the turret up (powder settles).

If the powder and shot disk are indexed correctly to the actuator bar you cannot double charge powder without dropping double shot.

If you reverse the cycle with the hydro for any reason and the actuator bar does not move you will not drop a double charge, if it does move you will.

....Otherwise you’re just trolling on this thread!

3. Tom Ruble

Tom Ruble TS Member

Does your charge bar have the proper shot/powder bushings installed? Break 'em all! Tom Ruble

4. whiz white

whiz white Strong Supporter of Trapshooting Banned

I saw the beam...

As mentioned above, a double charge of either will certainly be easily seen in the final crimp - if you can even get it crimped at all. You can NOT put more powder into the powder bushing for the volume is volume... you can change that!

What machine are you using? Whose hydraulic (P/W or Spolar), and single or double cylinders?