1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Purses and options

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jim brown, Aug 31, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jim brown

jim brown Well-Known Member

When I started shooting purses and options were normally $5 and $10. Everybody played them. Today they are $10 and $20 and nobody plays them. If you corrected the old purses and options for inflation they would be $50 and $100 today. Do you think the purses and options are too low today? If they were the same as 40 years ago (corrected for inflation) do you think more people would play them?

jim brown

2. Jawhawker

Jawhawker TS Member

I think that the era we began shooting, Jim, was taught to focus on monetairy gane involved with but not limited to handicap shooting. Today the average shooter no longer strives to win big payouts but just wants to shoot targets.

With experiencing non registered shoots where options are about 1/2 what they are normally at registered, I would say reduced cost would more likely get a better interest.

3. trapshootin hippie

trapshootin hippie Well-Known Member

So, ya say nobody plays em at 10 and 20 dollars right? Just wondering what makes ya think maybe if they were raised to 50 and a hundred dollars people would start playin em more. Bet less would be playing options.

GneJ

4. jim brown

jim brown Well-Known Member

Hippy: read a little slower. I didn't say what I thought. I asked what others thought

jim brown

5. Doug Brown

Doug Brown Well-Known Member

The average shooter has gotten smarter, he doesn't like getting his pocket picked. The gambler/shooter will still play the lewis.

6. ntgr8

ntgr8 Member