1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Purchasing a Browning Bt 99

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Jmnay_83, Aug 20, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jmnay_83

Jmnay_83 TS Member

I have been shooting trap for the last 4 or 5 years on a noncompetitive basis, but would like to get a little more serious about it. I have always had browning guns so I thought that my first competition trap gun should be a browning, but I have a couple of questions about them first.

1. Which model should I buy and why?
    2. Which barrell length should I buy?
    3. What store or dealer has the best prices?
    4. What brand of shell shoots best from this gun?

I would appreciate any help that you guys could give me and thanks in advance. John Nay

2. nailer123

nailer123 TS Member

I shot a bt99 34 inch i love it . They shot a little flat and little hard on recoil kickeez pad helped alot . new at scheels $1050.00 with out a comb .But i'm going to put after market alot nicer and cheaper.

3. Jollytrapshooter

Jollytrapshooter Member

Well, the answer to your first question would be; it depends on what you are willing to spend. Really, a plain BT-99 with a conventional stock is good, and if needed, you can get an adjustable comb cut. I have one with Browning's comb set up, and I just am not a big fan of it, it just seems kind of cheap to me. 2. Barrel length is a personal preference, you only have two to choose from, 32 or 34, whatever floats your boat I guess. 4. Don't really have a good answer to that, someone else who has bought more NEW guns than myself may be able to help out on that. And 5. Mine shoots good with my own reloads, and I've seen them shoot good with gun clubs, AA's, STS's and Kemen's...So pretty much anything. Hope this helps, Josh.

4. Trappy12