1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Pump Shotguns

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by siletzherb, Feb 13, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. siletzherb

siletzherb TS Member

I am new to this kind shooting. I got a chance to shoot a couple of years ago with a friend in Wisconsin and used an over/under remimington. I really enjoyed the experience and I actually did ok. I recently went to a local shoot and did miserably. I was shooting a pump and it seems like there is alot more coordination involved. Are there any techniques that relate to a person shooting a pump as opposed to an o/u?
    Thanks Herbert Jennings

2. dead on 4

dead on 4 Well-Known Member

Your pump may be a field gun which is less suited to the trap game than a trap gun. The main difference are the stock dimensions which allow the stock to be mounted and head placed on the comb first before calling for the target; where as the field stock is dynamic bringing the comb under your eye and the stock into your shoulder in one fluid move while making your shot on game.

If you gun has field dimensions, you might try renting or borrowing a trap gun and see if this is an improvement.

Surfer

3. Ross

Ross Well-Known Member