1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

PULVERISING TARGETS, NEXT WEEK CHIPS & MISSES?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by senior smoke, May 7, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. senior smoke

senior smoke Well-Known Member

HELLO:
    i started shooting trap in 1972. one of the things about shooting that has always confused me is this. one week i will be hitting targets with authority. huge black puff balls of smoke, i think to myself, this is the hardest hitting barrel i ever had. i go to the same club the next week, i have to look at my gun to make sure i didn't pick up the wrong gun. i go from pulversing targets one week, to chipping and missing targets the next week. how can this happen when no adjustments were made? is it the height of different trap houses? it sometimes feels like the poi changes. any ideas? one last thing, how do you good shooters handle the different height of trap houses from trap to trap. one club i was at, the first trap we shot on had a high trap house. the second trap was low into the ground, and 4 out of 5 shooters missed their first target out on the second round. how do you handle dufferent trap house heights, without missing a few targets at first?
    steve balistreri

2. mixer

mixer Well-Known Member

Obviously from what you say nothing about the gun has changed so it could be the way you mount the gun, your head placement on the stock, the speed at which you're shooting or any number of variations about your shooting style.

When you're smoking targets then chipping your way to fame and fortune have a friend or another shooter watch or video tape you to see if they can see any differences in your style.

Eric

3. dynapro

dynapro TS Member