1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

promo powder in cold weather

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by rslus, Nov 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rslus

rslus TS Member

i just spent 1-2 hours reading about promo powder trying to find a soultion to a occasional blooper in cold weather.

i have been using promo for the last 2 years and noticed during cold weather i get some shells that sound like "light loads". For example, last year I was loading sts hulls with both remington & winchester 209 primers, claybuster blue 1-1/8 ounce wads and 17.4 grains of promo powder. This year I am basically using the same load but switched to Fiocchi primers and experienced the same blooper results. i tried using another wad, windjammer, with the same results. So, since i had the same results with winchester, remington and fiocchi primers, I ruled out the blooper problem due to primer selection. At this point, I am leaning towards changing to another powder during the cold weather shooting. If it still exists, switch to an oem wad.

any other suggestions??

rslus

2. mrskeet410

mrskeet410 TS Member

Some suggestions I picked up at this site from others:

Kick your load up a bushing;

Keep your ammo in a heated part of your house:

Carry your ammo to the club in the passenger compartment of your car or truck, and bring it into the clubhouse when you get there.

3. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Wads. Use Blue duster or Figure 8. Maybe the Downrange will work too, I have no experience with them. And do not shoot cold shells.

HM

4. JasonH

JasonH TS Member