1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

Project Gun - Holy Moly!

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by GrandpasArms, Mar 8, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GrandpasArms

GrandpasArms Member

This is my first project gun effort. No, it isn't up to most of the real gun builders' level, but it's mine and I'm happy with the results. That's not to say I won't tear it down next week and try something different. Here's what I did.

Stripped a 1986 anniversary 1100 trap receiver to the white.

Sprayed the outside of the receiver with Brownell's Metal-Epoxy coat. The inner workings are white and coated in oil. I've thought about bluing, but I'm somewhat fond of the clean look of the white steel.

Found a Speer's release trigger that seems to work. It was very clean and when I soaked it in Prolix no dirt came out.

The wood furniture is still on my bench being bleached and sanded. I'm also trying my hand at re-checkering over the pressed factory design. Got that wood at ebay for a song. Looks really good now that I've removed all the scratches, finish, and dents. In the meantime, Richard Colley sold me a great carbon Jack West stock set (arrived here probably before Richard received my check). Now that I have it set up with the black, I'm thinking the wood pieces will be put on something else.

The barrel is 30 inches, fixed full and ported. It was originally on the first 1100 I owned (thanks Smokin' Joe).

It looks a lot like the new 1100 models with the Jack West stock set. The main differences are age, cost, and my satisfaction at making it.

Sorry about the quality of the pictures. The iPhone does many things well, but isn't the best camera on the planet. Regardless, I think they adequately portray the finished project.