1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems with Fed. 209A primers

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by jbmi, Jan 13, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jbmi

jbmi Well-Known Member

I've been reloading for 8 years and have always used Fiocchi primers, mayber 60-70K so far. Used them in all of the Remington hulls and have less than a dozen FTF in those 60-70K loads.
    I bought about 10 flats of Federal Gold Medal when they had their rebate program, so I thought I'd better buy some Federal primers to go with them, what a mistake.
    I have loaded everything over the past 8 years on MEC9000 press and the once fired Federal hulls and primers are butter smooth during the reloading but I bet I get at least 8 FTF out of each 100 rounds I reload.
    I've checked each FTF and have shown all of them to the crew that I shoot with. The thing we notice on each of the FTF is the center part of the primer, (where the firing pin hits) sits just a few thousants of an inch deeper than the ones that go bang. On the shells that fire I get a really nice deep indent but the FTF have just a very light dent.
    I've shot them out of both my Kolar and my 90T and both have experienced this problem.
    Has anyone else seen this problem with Federal 209A's ?

jbmi_2008_030358.jpg

2. shotgunner50

shotgunner50 Member

I have had the same problem with Federals both in new shells and reloads and after trying several things found two things contributing to the problem. The federal primers are rounded and if your firing pin is not hitting dead center you will have misfires. The only trapgun I had this problem with was my Browning BT 100 and the firing pin hole is off center. My XT and model 12 will fire them fine. Hope this helps.
    M Taylor
    Shotgunner 50