1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Problems w/ Claybuster CB 2100-12 wads LOT #060491

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Jennifer, Nov 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jennifer

Jennifer Member

Just curious - has anybody had any problems with their CB 2100-12 wads, specifically lot #060491, esp. with finer powders? I've been loading these for almost 10 years, first with Clays then Titewad for the last two years. When I received this particular lot (060491), I began to have bloopers (grossly inconsistent speeds, crud down the bbl, and unburned powder in the hull). Thinking it was the powder, primers or the hulls I tried a lot of different things, but after several weeks of fiddling, today I confirmed it was the wads when I loaded a box using the old wads I had before ordering these. The old wads worked just fine, as they had for many years.

The load is FGM hull, CB2100 wad, 1 oz shot, W209 primer and Titewad powder (17.5 - 18 gr).

The Federal hulls and wads work OK with the heavier grained 700x I have, and the Titewad works OK in a 7/8 oz AA load using WAA12L wads.

Jennifer

2. samiam03

samiam03 Member

Isn't the 1 oz wad from claybuster CB1100-12?

Sam

3. Fast Oil

Fast Oil TS Member

4. K-Hornet

K-Hornet Member

Been using this wad for the last few years with 700x and switched to clay dot just this summer. Found I have cleaner and better burns. Works well on 16's, dooubles and short yd 23 (just moved from the 22 last month)

FGM hulls- CB 2100 wad- F 616 primer- 1oz. 8's- 17.5-18 gr. clay dot

Al

5. scooterbum

scooterbum Active Member

You could move to a hotter primer, or use more powder, say 19 grains. Or, do both.

Are you getting a full powder drop, with each load? Are your loads a full one ounce?

6. Unknown1