1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Practice?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by JBrooks, Sep 22, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JBrooks

JBrooks TS Member

I have often seen references here about "practicing", some for it, some against it. Because my dad was a multi-sport coach at both the high school and colligiate level, I grew up in a very athletic environment. The importance of practice was instilled in me at an early age. I have also had the opportunity to spend some time around PGA tour players. These guys, from Tiger Woods on down, practice like you can't believe.

In that far more hours are spent in practice than in competition in all organized sports, I was shocked at the wide spread disdain for practice that I found when I started shooting trap a couple of years ago. I am also surprised at how few shooters shoot a warmup round before competitions. Again, if you go to a golf tournament you will see the guys putting, chipping and hitting the range before their round. Why do Trapshooters think they don't have to practice and warmup?

2. Charles L. Schmidt

Charles L. Schmidt TS Member

JBrooks, I for one believe that practice is very important if you are to become a AA27AA Trapshooter. And I think that the practice should always be with the same intensity as that shown in a registered shoot. Unless you're working on some specific exercise your practice should be performed exactly as if you were in a major ATA event. To practice otherwise is counter productive.

I don't know of any good shooters who would say that practice isn't necessary. Some of the top shots don't practice much as they're often shooting 3,000 registered targets every month. Which leaves little time (and money) for practice, and really that's practice enough. cls