1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Powder info needed...

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by John55, Oct 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John55

John55 Active Member

I've been using Green Dot for my 1-1/8oz loads for several years now and have decided to try something different. I like it's low pressure and moderate cost but just feel like a change would be interesting! I load the Remingtom STS cases mostly with Fig.8 or Versalite wads. Been looking at Clays Universal and International and was hoping to get some feedback about them for this application. I want something that burns clean, is not going to be affected by cold weather and will not run my pressures up too high...preferably keeping them under 10,000 cup. I was all set to switch back to PB but when I checked the price I decided I might want to look at something else! Any comments most appreciated.

2. School Teacher

School Teacher Well-Known Member

Years ago I switched from PB to Green Dot in Federal Gold Medal plastic cases and have been well pleased. PB was becoming difficult to obtain and was more costly. For 1 1/8 oz loads at 1145 fps, 19.5 grains of Green Dot is just what the doctor ordered.

With the STS case, 19 - 19.5 grains of Green Got, Remington Fig wad, a Remington 209 primer and 1 1/8 oz of quality shot, you have an outstanding load

Ed Ward

3. John55

John55 Active Member

Yes, Green Dot does a nice job but after using it for quite a long time in a variety of loads I want to try something different! I've used a good bit of Clays as well, worked great for 1oz loads but never cared for it in 3dr. 1-1/8oz loadings. I prefer a slower burning powder for this application, and the Universal and International versions seem to be a better choice given my criteria...