1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Powder Drop Problem with MEC 8567 Grabber

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Charlie Leavitt, Aug 18, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Charlie Leavitt

Charlie Leavitt TS Member

I am trying to reload Federal Gold Medal hulls with 1 1/8 onces of shot and 18 grains of Red Dot powder. The charts say that a MEC #30 bushing should yield 17.8 grains of Red Dot. However, when I measure the powder drop on my RCBS electronic scale I get 16.2 - 16.5 grains. I've measured thirty powder drops and they are always in this range.
    I am VERY new at this and need help. I've adjusted the nut on the automatic charge rod so that the powder bushing is centered under the powder bottle position when the charge bar is fully over to the left. Are there other things I should be doing?
    The #32 bushing seems to yield about 18.2 grains but, as I said, I am new at this and reticent to deviate from published recipes.
    Any ideas would be appreciated. Thank you in advance.
    Charlie

2. Seitz Shooter

Seitz Shooter Member

I found that that bushing recommendation was not accurate.

Use the bushing that gives you the correct powder charge according to your powder scale.

Adios, Dirk

3. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

Agreed. Because of lot to lot differences, there is some "lawsuit protection" built into the bushing charts.

Also progressive machines and single stage will each throw differently from the same bushing.

HM

4. LMac

LMac TS Member