1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

powder drop inconsistent

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by gspointer, Aug 15, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. gspointer

gspointer TS Member

I have a mec sizemaster. I just got some PB powder. My powder drop is going from 21.4grns to 23grns every other shell consistantly. It is supposed to be dropping 21.3grns. I have the rubber groumet and washer installed like it is supposed to be above the charge bar in the powder drop hole. Would anyone know what my problem is?
    Thanks for any help

2. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Static build up can cause that as well as other issues. What type of bar are you using? Adjustable bar or bushing bar?

3. gspointer

gspointer TS Member

Bushing bar

4. HSLDS

HSLDS Well-Known Member

There is an after market powder baffle - it can be had in plastic or pot metal (do a Google search for 'MEC powder baffle').

Depending on the powder you are using either no baffle, the plastic one, or the metal - one will increase the consistency of the throw (I know it sounds weird, but different powders act differently with these baffles. E.g., Promo tends to like no baffle).

You might also try an antistatic dryer sheet (you can rubber band it to the outside of the powder bottle).

5. grntitan