1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Powder Burn Rate Charts

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by JJJ, Sep 3, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JJJ

JJJ TS Member

The best rate chart is from LoadData.com . You MAY be able to print it without having a subscription. Check their site out. They have hundreds of thousands loads in their site. I forget how much it costs, but I have been subscribing for many years.
    Joe Jordan

2. Shooting Coach

Shooting Coach Well-Known Member

Don't pay a whole lot of attention to these charts. at 8000 PSI, one powder might be faster than another. At 10,000 PSI, things change.

Use listed data only. Faster powders may often be downloaded slightly, and slower powders often give problems when downloaded. Other than that, don't tempt fate.

3. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

They are all figments of someones imagination. I have done exhaustive searches and have not agreed with any of the 70 or so I have seen.

4. halfmile

halfmile Well-Known Member

The above URL is my best chart after looking at many.

Hodgdon also has one, not as complete.

They are simply a comparison chart, and not Gospel.

But they do come in handy when I want to quickly see several powders to use for an application.

HM

5. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

Well, I'm not out to pick a fight, but that chart simply sucks, HM.

JD, I haven't used most of the powders you find on those charts, but here is my take on the ones I have used (we are talking 12ga trap loads here).

Bullseye- fastest

700X, next fastest

Clays, e3

TiteGroup, Red Dot

International Clays, Solo 1000

American Select

Green Dot

PB

Unique

There is so little difference in burning rate between 700X and Red Dot it simply doesn't matter.