1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

PORTING...WHY NOT????????

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by ounce-n-3/8s, Dec 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ounce-n-3/8s

ounce-n-3/8s TS Member

Ok, would someone please explain to me why all of the sudden porting is a 4-letter word? I have heard different things from different folks. Some say, that you lose fps/energy as a result of them and others say that it makes bbls inferior/weak.

I have been shooting trap and sporting clays for 35 years..........I was raised around gun clubs. I primarily shoot money/meat shoots and most folks in the surrounding area (including myself) shoot anything but factory shells. Some of my guns are ported and some are not. In all of my time shooting, I have never seen porting cause an undesirable effect.......not in cracked bbls or in the manner a target is hit.

I'm neither for or against porting, I just wonder why all of the sudden people act as if a gun has herpes if it has been ported. Who's the brainiac that started the rumor that ported guns are ruined or essentially worthless? More importantly, why has it gained traction.....are people sheep? Somehow, I think it may be associated with Global Warming.

In all honesty, how many bbls have you ever seen split out as the result of a reputable porting job?

Shane

2. BDodd

BDodd TS Member