1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Ported Barrels And Chokes

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Dave L, Nov 15, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Dave L

Dave L TS Member

I just started shooting a couple years ago and noticed most of the guys that I shoot with have o/u with ported barrels.I am considering having my barrels ported. Just wondering if it really is worth the extra money to have this done.

2. Easystreet

Easystreet Well-Known Member

Here we go again. I suppose it is time for the bi-weekly discussion of porting since we just had the bi-weekly discussion of release triggers. I think that the question of 7 1/2's or 8's is coming up next.

Anyway, the answer to your question is "No". As long as your barrel has a hole in each end, it has all the holes that it needs (unless it's a semi-auto, in which case it needs one or two gas port holes). I've got some porting holes in a couple of my O/U's which I would gladly give you for free if it would seal up the holes in my barrels.

3. Rollin Oswald

Rollin Oswald Active Member

I agree with Easystreet. Save your money and spend it for something useful. Porting became common to reduce barrel-rise during recoil. It does, but not enough to warrant paying what porting costs, especially if you do not shoot doubles.

Excessive barrel rise has a number of causes, none of which are solved with porting the barrel(s). It has become popular to the point where manufacturers now offer ported guns, because buyers in the past have attempted to find a way to reduce barrel-rise and reduce the time necessary to get on a second target. The other reason is the hope of eliminating cheek-slap, the painful mashing of the cheek by the rising comb of the stock.