1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

POI for new shooters - how high?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by dmarbell, Oct 21, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dmarbell

dmarbell Active Member

I started shooting trap early this year. I have about 2,500 total targets or so. My best scores have been with a Beretta 390 with 28" barrel and flat rib. I've tried a couple of guns that patterned high at 13-20 yards without much success.

Is there a pattern that a new shooter should stick to until some measure of success is achieved? Is that pattern relatively flat?

As an alternative question, do any really good shooters shoot relatively flat shooting guns? Say no higher than 60/40?

I'm a pretty slow-paced person, so it's possible I'm shooting targets "late" when they've peaked, and the whole high-shooting pattern deal doesn't work for that style.

Danny

2. buzzgun

buzzgun Member

Danny,

Yes, there are good shooters who shoot flat guns. However - do not listen to _anybody_ here who tries to tell you what pattern height to use. If they even _begin_ to offer you advice, over the internet, without knowing you from Adam...they are charlatans.

And it doesn't matter who it is, or their "qualifications." They're all full of bull. Every single one of them.

Even as a beginner, you can answer this for yourself, better than anybody.

3. midalake

midalake Well-Known Member

Everyone's eye likes to see something different. There are many things which may determine your POI. One-two eye, rib height, shooter mount, gun.......the list is endless. One really needs to find this for themself. However I will add
    if you really missing targets due to a wrong POI it will take more than a washer to make a chang.

GS

4. midalake

midalake Well-Known Member