1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.

please help me, new to shotguns for skeet use only

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Po, Apr 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Po

Po TS Member

I am new to skeet shooting ,be doing this with my 14 yr old son who follows Boy Scout rules. Is there a light recoil 20 gauge that is not too expensive? It can be a single shot? Are the Rossi matched pairs a good starter or will the kick ruin the fun?
  2. EuroJoe

EuroJoe Active Member

28 gauge Remington 870, will break them all, and he can use it thruout his whole life. Stay away from single shots, they are all worthless.
  3. dessivanov

dessivanov Member

If shooting skeet, you would need a repeating shotgun. 28 GA is a great option but it will be pricey. IMO any 20GA auto loader would do. You can weigh it down to smooth your son's swing and will also help with the recoil. Your son can use it for the rest of his life also for hunting and clay shooting. In a couple of years, you can get your son a O/U which would be even more useful.
    Pump, even inexpensive, would be a poor choice for skeet.
  4. mag410

mag410 Member

20 gauge 1100 or 1187 would be my recommendation. Single shots will not work for skeet as you can't shoot doubles with a single shot. 870 Pumps are great guns ,but they are light and kick like hell with standard 7/8 ounce loads. Nothing worse you can do than start a kid on a light hard-kicking gun. If you reload and load lighter loads they are bearable.

Michael
  5. rhett1977

rhett1977 Member

Beretta 390 or 391
  6. build4u

build4u TS Member