1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Pheasant Load

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by dkimbler, Nov 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dkimbler

dkimbler TS Member

I am looking for a fast load for pheasants. I have a friend that said he hunted
    with a load by one of the shell manufacturers, that was 1500 fps?? Does anyone have a load close to this and if so, will you advise ?

Thanks

David

2. Maurice

Maurice Member

David, you do not need 1500fps for pheasant. 1&1/4 oz of #4 shot at 1200fps is all you need. I have been hunting pheasant for over 50 years and have always filled my quota. I have seen so many Americans using 3" Magnum shells that invariably do a great amount of damage to the Pheasant.Bigger is not better.
    Maurice ( The Brit. )

3. PerazziBigBore

PerazziBigBore TS Member

If you ever shot a 1 1/4oz at 1400 fps.. you'd very quickly rule out 1500 fps..

1200/1220fps is PLENTY enough..

4. Ringneck

Ringneck TS Member

I have lived in SD for my entire life, and have shot pheasants for over 50 years. Believe me, you do not need a load that approaches the speed you have noted unless you really enjoy recoil. Some of the best loads I have used are loaded with 1 1/4 oz of 4 or 5 shot at about 1250 fps. I normally use .015 choke which is usually listed as light modified or skeet 2. If you do desire a fast factory loaded load try fiocci Golded Pheasant which is 1 3/8 at about 1450. I tried some of these with good success, but consider them over kill, way to much recoil. Have a good hunt!

5. Ringneck

Ringneck TS Member