1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Pheasant load shot size question

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by bozkm, Sep 22, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bozkm

bozkm TS Member

Hello,
    I am just getting into reloading and have been reading numerous posts on opinions of good pheasant loads, shot size, etc,. I think I have narrowed it down between 5 or 6 shot. SO hear are my questions:

Looking at the 6 shot..they have magnum, chilled, and plated..all offered by lawrence..opinions on these, and if lawrence is good for their "plated". The rest I have heard they are very well known for.

On the 5 shot...magnum is not offered (at least by Lawrence and the few other websites I have looked at)...so my only options are chilled and plated..either copper or nickle.

So, nickle on either of these shots, or just the 5 since I can't get the magnums..or just go with chilled?

Thank you for your help.

2. Jack Frost

Jack Frost TS Member

hmmm used to be that we only had one or two choices and either seemed to work real well, but that was 40 years ago, I bet everything has changed now...I used high brass 6's or 5's.

J.F.

3. kcp99

kcp99 Member

i prefer the copper plated #6 for phesants both here in illinois and in the dakota's remember to pattern your gun and see which one it likes the best good luch and have a great hunting season k.c.

4. bozkm

bozkm TS Member

Thanks....I've only been able to find the copper or nickel plated at Precision reloading or ballistics products....any opinion on which is "better"...or another location to checkout?

5. Brian in Oregon

Brian in Oregon Well-Known Member

Deplorable Bitter Clinger in Liberal La La Land
    Alas, most of the pheasants here are on state game management areas, so we have to use steel.

6. Ben P