1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Pheasant Gun and Load

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by JHS, May 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JHS

JHS TS Member

I have been invited to go Pheasant hunting in South dakota next Fall. Good excuse to buy a gun. What works best? Guage/ Choke(s)/Load?

I have lots of duck hunting experience; zero upland.

Jim

2. Setterman

Setterman Well-Known Member

Get any quality auto (Benelli, 1187, 391). 1 1/4 oz #6, maybe a #4 on your last shot. Full choke behind a flusher, mod. behind a good pointer. When in doubt, full choke.

3. lumper

lumper TS Member

What gun do you shoot for duck hunting? If it is an auto and if it is an auto of decent reputation it would be cheapest just to get a possible replacement barrel that could be more to your needs than a whole new gun but if your mind is set on a new gun ... how much money ya gots to spend???

4. Doug Mc

Doug Mc TS Member

Unless you are young and full of it -- after many years of chasing Pheasant my personal choice is a light 20 Auto either 2 3/4" or 3" -- a gun gets heavy after a day of carrying it around -- and a 20 is more then enough to bring a bird down -- you will be able to get on a bird when your arms and shoulders aren't pooped and make a good shot -- #6 shot -- Light Mod or Mod was the best all around choke choice for me -- been doing it for 40 years

5. ljutic73

ljutic73 Well-Known Member

do it with class and buy a nice quality,20ga. SXS...like a Ruger Gold Label.....

6. Lyle

Lyle Member

Jim,