1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Over coaching

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Mykidstrap, Mar 21, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mykidstrap

Mykidstrap TS Member

Questions;
    I've shot trap for several years only for the purpose of recreation. However, my kids havexstarted shooting 15/18 yrs of age. I'm no expert. I ave 94/100 ok, not great.

I've been reading "Trapshooting secrets" and full of knowledge :)

I suspect I've been giving my kids too much fresh information in a short time frame. I suspect this is a common problem, maybe?

If I had 3, 4 areas to have my kids focus on, what areas would you lean towards?

Thanks much :)

2. grntitan

grntitan Well-Known Member

Safety:

1)Gun fit and hold as well as stance.

2)See the Bird

3)Lead the Bird

4)Shoot the Bird

In that order. Offer more info after these basics are second nature. I'm no Trap coach and i have a similar average as youreslf but i did stay at a Holiday Inn Express last night. :)

Matt

3. hmb

hmb Well-Known Member

Find the best trap shooter in your area and let your kids watch him shoot. HMB

4. Tron

Tron Supporting Vendor Supporting Vendor

I always tell the kids: "Tune everything out except for my constant criticism".

That works well.

Jb

5. dhip

dhip Active Member

Funny you should mention that.I've just started trap shooting,just over a year now.The first thing the fella that got me into it mentions,is exactly what you said.Too much info too quick can do more harm than good.I usually have to pump him for answers and he doles them out a little at a time.Now,the biggest difference I see is our ages,,LOL,,I'm 59 and starting,you kids probably can digest stuff quicker than I can.
    Amazing reading the posts,seems the same thing over and over.