1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

OT: Knife recommendations....

Discussion in 'Off Topic Threads' started by wolfram, May 20, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

I like the Chicago Cutlery brand knives for the reasons you mentioned. They aren't cheap but they won't break the bank either. The large chef's knife is about $25.

2. TC

TC TS Member

The old Chicago Cutlery knives were very good. The problem is, they are no longer in business. The name was sold to an importer and used on Chinese and Brazilian imports.

3. wolfram

wolfram Well-Known Member

Didn't know that TC. I bought a set of Chicago Cutlery for the trap club last year and they were USA made. I have been using my own set for about 20 years.

4. steele

steele TS Member

I've had very good luck with Cutco knives. I even use their hunting versions. Everytime I go to elk camp, one of the guides talks me out of mine. We dressed out two elk, & it was still sharp enough to shave hair. They have a huge selection of kitchen items.

5. oletymer

oletymer Member

Camillus, Lampson and Old Hickory still make kitchen knives made in the USA.

6. Bob Merkov

Bob Merkov Member

Forchner knives are very well respected. Their chef's knife was tested and found to be the equal of their German and Japanese counter parts for around $25.00 dollars. And their $4.00 dollar pairing knives just can't be beat.

Bob M.

7. blade819

blade819 Well-Known Member

Wusthoff

8. cubancigar2000

cubancigar2000 Well-Known Member