1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

OT/Elect motor or furnace failure

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by TC, Nov 2, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TC

    TC TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    931
    Need some help, furnace motor is not coming on. How can I determine if it is the motor or something else? Burner lights but fan doesn't come on and burner doesn't shut off. Older Bryant propane furnace. Tony
     
  2. Ohio Bob

    Ohio Bob Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    405
    The burner will light. The heat chamber will heat up until it reaches a temp and the limit switch will turn the blower on. If the blower fails to come on then an upper limit switch shuts the burner system down. If the burner is still burning then you might not be up to temp for the switch yet.

    With the filter door off you should be able to hear if the motor is trying to turn. Before you call for heat turn the motor by hand to make sure the motor will turn. If the motor turns the let the system reach temp. If the system shuts down after it gets hot and there is no blower. CALL FOR PROFESSIONAL HELP
     
  3. Neil Winston

    Neil Winston Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,848
    In cases like this I ask myself the deciding question:

    "What's the worst thing that can happen if I pay to get this fixed right - and what's the worst thing that can happen if I don't?"

    Neil
     
  4. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    Neil, good. Electricity is your friend. If your friend is sick you call a doctor for him. If you're not a doctor don't try an appendectomy.

    HM
     
  5. dennis (nj)

    dennis (nj) Guest

    Sounds like it`s the fan control switch . As was said above , the furnace has to get up to the set temperature then the switch tells the motor to start . If it doesn`t go on the temperature will rise to the high limit setting and shut the propane off as a safety .
     
  6. Big Dave

    Big Dave Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    990
    There is a safety switch on the blower compartment door, make sure the door is on properly, if you have central AC try swithing your thermostat fan switch to on. With the front panel removed, you should be able to see the fan limit switch, it is usually a rectangular box silver in color, there might be a manual on pull button on it. Some units did not have a fan limit "switch" but used snap disk or klix-on switches for these purposes. If you have an owners manual these should be pointed out in it.
     
  7. Catpower

    Catpower Molon Labe TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    10,231
    Location:
    In the Cabana
    You probably should listen to Mr Winston, because unless your furnace is REAL and I mean REAL old, the fan was controlled by a circuit board in the blower compartment, if older than that it was controlled by a combination fan and limit, that had a pre heater on the bi metal to assist in warming it up. A bryant is the same thing as a Carrier. They started putting circuit boards in them in mid '70's, so your unit is at least 30 years old, it's race has probably been run, and you don't want to find out the heat exchanger has a leak in it the hard way (by having someone not wake up!)
     
  8. TC

    TC TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    931
    I was hopeing someone could tell me how I could check the motor without powering up the furnace. Tony
     
  9. dennis (nj)

    dennis (nj) Guest

    Sounds like your not electricly capable to do this yourself otherwise it would have been fixed . Call a service man . I still think it`s the fan limit switch
     
  10. timb99

    timb99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Shawnee, Kansas, USA
    I've had lots of problems with limit switches on my furnace. It's a good bet.
     
  11. Capt. Morgan

    Capt. Morgan TS Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,061
    My bet is that the Essential Smoke has escaped.

    Anybody who owned a British sports car in the 60s/70s remembers Lucas electrics. Any failure of any Lucas electic component was immediately preceded by the wholesale escape of the Essential Smoke contained inside the part. Once the smoke got out, the part never worked again and it couldn't be re-filled.

    Check your Smoke level.

    Morgan
     
  12. timb99

    timb99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    7,330
    Location:
    Shawnee, Kansas, USA
    Ah yes, the magic gray smoke is also found in computer chips and the like. It is what keeps them running. Once it gets out, all is lost.
     
  13. Bullheaded on SKB

    Bullheaded on SKB TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    46
    Recently, when the furnace reaches its set temperature the blower keeps going on and then off about every 15 seconds. One guy told me it might be the motherboard giving bad signal to the furnace? Being on a fixed income anyone have an idea what this motherboard repalcement might cost?

    Chet
     
  14. phirel

    phirel TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    9,556
    note that chatbrat recommended to take the belt off the motor before turning it by hand. Some people who did not do this no longer have 10 fingers.

    Pat Ireland
     
  15. Rico46

    Rico46 TS Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    725
    Chet, I have the same exact thing going on with my furnace. It's a pain an I need to get it fixed. Last time I had those professionals out their it cost me an arm and a leg.

    Rick
     
  16. halfmile

    halfmile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    15,643
    Location:
    Green Bay Wisconsin
    Yes, once the smoke is gone they do not work any more.

    Can you imagine being an astronaut, all strapped in and ready to go when you spot the "Electrics By Lucas" badge on the panel?

    Mash the link for hilarious stuff.

    HM
     
  17. grunt

    grunt TS Supporters TS Supporters

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 1998
    Messages:
    5,920
    Location:
    Thousand Oaks Ca
    everyones talking about a fan belt. Does it have one? most fans are direct dive now no belt.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.