1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Optimal pressure for loads?

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Questor, Dec 10, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Questor

Questor TS Member

I am new to loading for trap and am wondering whether there is an optimal pressure for trap loads, especially trap loads that will be used for cold weather shooting.

I recall reading from a shotshell reloading book that ballistic engineers prefer a pressure of about 10,500 for maximum uniformity and consistency.

The real question here is how I can make the best loads for myself.

Since picking a pressure is about as easy as looking up load data, I don't see why I shouldn't use an optimal pressure. Of course, I'd be using magnum shot, good wads, quality powder like Clays, and quality hulls probably Winchester AA.

About the only component I have any preference for is the AA hulls because of their general availability.

Finally, if you know of a good book that explains load development for trap, I'd like to know it.

Thanks for the help. I appreciate it.

2. zzt

zzt Well-Known Member

As far as books go, try the original red hardcover version of the Hodgdon Shotshell Reloading Guide, and the Lyman Shotshell Reloading Handbook, 5th Edition.

Regarding pressures. When you talk to powder manufacturer's ballisticians, they tell you they consider any load they develop to be suitable for publication for use by reloaders if it falls within a 25fps and 2500psi range. So, as a general rule, I'm very reluctant to use loads that develop a "nominal" 10,500psi, because they can generate more than that.

I try to stay between 8000psi and 9000psi generally. That seems to give me enough pressure for a consistent burn and enough headroom for comfort.