1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Opinions wanted on Winchester Select Energy

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by cableguy, Mar 7, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. cableguy

cableguy TS Member

I'm new to the trap shooting world. I have been reading the posts for a while now and would like to ask for some opinions on the Winchester Select Energy O/U 12 ga. I have an opportunity on one and just want to know the good,bad and, ugly on them. Any opinions?
    Thanks

2. drunk_again

drunk_again TS Member

3. Colonel Reb

Colonel Reb TS Member

I do not have one but have read nothing bad about them. For the money they are a great buy. As has been said above, you are basically getting Browning quality for less than the cost of a Browning.

4. cbxchris

cbxchris Active Member

Good gun. Acceptable triggers. Great value for the money.

For info purposes. The gun is maufactored by FN and assembled in portugal. Brownings are made in japan by miroku. FN is the parent compnay to both winchester and browning. That is the only thing common to the browning and winchester.

5. dhockett

dhockett TS Member

I have a 32" Sporting version and am very pleased considering dollar value for dollar spent. The Trap version just has a wider rib, not a high post, which makes it shoot flat. Fine for Sporting Clays maybe not for trap. I went with a BT 99 for trap and use the Winchester for everything else.

The checkering pattern is different but functional. Watch wood to metal fit between the barrels and the forearm. The release lever shudders on some when opening and they can be overly tight. This can be adjusted out. Overbored barrels, invector plus chokes, and ported out of the box and don't forget, Browning in Arnold, Mo. looks after these.