1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

Opinions on Citori XT Trap with GraCoil

Discussion in 'Shooting Related Threads' started by Ricky B, Dec 2, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ricky B

Ricky B TS Member

I've been shooting trap off and on for over 25 years but I've never seriously gotten into the game. Recently I've been shooting a Beretta 687 sporting clays model (6.8 lbs). I've never had a problem with recoil with it.

I am thinking about getting a new gun solely for trap and have been considering the Citori XT Gold with an adjustable comb and GraCoil recoil reducer. The idea of being able to adjust the comb and LOP is very appealing. I'm not sure I need a recoil reducer, but I have often heard and read experienced shooters say that recoil is cumulative, and if it doesn't bother you, that just means you haven't shot enough.

I know the XT Trap is cheaper, but I like the way the Gold looks and don't want to fool with finding someone to add the GraCoil and make an adjustable stock. I can get a good enough price on an XT Gold that I am satisfied with the cost of the gun, but the gun is not local. I would have to buy it and have it shipped. Therefore I can't try it out.

I know the best way to try a different gun is to join a trap league and try other members' guns, but I can't join a league right now.

Is the XT a popular trap gun?

Are there any idiosyncracies that people complain about?

Does the shooter notice the operation of GraCoil? By that I mean, does the operation of the GraCoil distract the shooter? (The first time I shot my 1100 in doubles, the sound of the action operating to chamber a second round was distracting.)

Does the GraCoil adversely affect the balance of the gun?