1. Attention: We have put together a thread with tips and a tutorial video to help with using the new software. Please take a moment to check out the thread here: Trapshooters.com Tutorial & Help Video.
    Dismiss Notice

OPINION ON ANGLE PORT CHOKES

Discussion in 'Uncategorized Threads' started by Chuck DeVoid, Apr 14, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Chuck DeVoid

Chuck DeVoid Member

On another post asking about ported vs. non-ported chokes, it was posted that Angle Port (Ballistic Specialties) was having a sale on their complete line of extended chokes, 25.00 each or 5 for 100.00... That's a heck of a deal!!! I do need chokes for a Browning 20 ga. O/U.

All the aftermarket chokes I have are Briley extended X2's. They're nice chokes, extend approx. 3/4" beyond the muzzle, clearly marked, AND HAVE NOTCHES FOR A CHOKE TUBE WRENCH. I have no experience with the Angle Port chokes, although I have no doubt that they're a quality product.

I ask if anyone has experience with the Angle Port chokes? If the markings are nicely done and how far they extend beyond the muzzle? My biggest concern however is that they have no notches for a standard choke tube wrench, and if this is a potential problem?? (unless the notches are inside like on a Briley spectrum choke)

My choke tube threads are always kept clean, light oil on the threads before installing, chokes are always removed prior to storage, and just a nudge with the wrench beyond hand tight when installing. I do know that chokes can "tighten" up a little after shooting, and this is where the notches and choke wrench provide insurance.

Again, it sounds like a great buy from Angle Port, and I'm sure the chokes are quality. I am a bit concerned however if they don't have wrench notches, and if this is a concern.

Thanks very much for any information,

Bill

2. Paladin

Paladin Well-Known Member

Chuck